Why am I here?

Because I’m going to run a marathon!

I am participating in the Joints in Motion program in memory of my Mom, Karen, who passed away in March 2011. As part of this program, I will train for and run a full marathon (42.2 km) in Lausanne, Switzerland in October 2012. Along the way, I will raise money and awareness in support of the Arthritis Society‘s research, programs and advocacy work that is so important to people living with arthritis.

My mom fought rheumatoid arthritis for as long as I can remember. I mostly didn’t understand it when I was growing up, but I saw the negative impact it had on her health – debilitating pain, side effects from the cocktails of medications, and her inability to participate in regular day-to-day activities that so many of us take for granted. Today, I can only wonder what her life would have been like if there was a cure or better treatment for arthritis. This journey is a way for me to honour her memory, and to do something to support the millions of people who continue to suffer from various forms this disease.

You can donate to my campaign here:

http://arthritis.akaraisin.com/onjim/KaarinaStiff

You can also support my journey by sending this link to a friend, and by sharing any ideas you might have on how to raise funds and awareness for arthritis.  And do stop by here from time to time to see how things are going.  Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

