OMG, there are mountains in Switzerland!

Lausanne, Switzerland

"Between the lake and verdant hillsides."

Of course there are, duh.  Where did I think the Swiss Alps were?  But I wasn’t thinking that this marathon is going through any mountains.

A friend recently said to me, “Switzerland, wow, that’s gonna be hilly,” and I said “no, no – it’s along Lake Geneva, it will be fine.”  Then I went back to the web site for the marathon, just to make sure.  It says that the marathon runs “between the lake and verdant hillsides”.  Between.  That’s the important part, right?  It started to occur to me that maybe that doesn’t mean “flat”.

I began comparing this description to write-ups for the half-marathons that I’ve done.  The Niagara Falls race is “considered flat and fast”.  The Toronto half-marathon is “flat, fast and scenic”.  The Ottawa half-marathon and the Army Run (also in Ottawa)  have been described as “excellent for first-timers and those looking for a personal best”.  The Lausanne Marathon is “between the lake and verdant hillsides“.

The elevation chart on the website doesn’t look so bad, but the pictures of the race course are making me a little nervous.  Really, though, what did I expect from a country that has 65% of its surface area covered by mountains!?

For now, I’m taking deep breath and reminding myself that I’m not setting out to break any records – I just want to finish.  In one piece. I’m also making a note for my future training plans that incorporating some hill work might not be a bad idea, just in case.

Leave a Reply

